2016 URA Architectural Heritage Awards: Open Call for Submissions

  Published: 22 April 2016
Circular No : URA/PB/2016/07-PCUDG


Who Should Know:
Architects, Conservation Property Owners, Developers, Contractors, Engineers, Conservation Specialists


  1. URA is pleased to announce that the 2016 Architectural Heritage Awards (AHA) is now open for submissions. This annual award recognises owners, professionals and contractors who have gone beyond the basic essentials to lovingly restore gazetted national monuments and conserved buildings to their former glory for today’s use in Singapore. They serve to set a high restoration standard for others to follow.
  2. From 2016 onwards, the Awards will be differentiated into two categories:
    • Award for Restoration
      This is for projects that demonstrate exemplary restoration of gazetted heritage buildings. The assessment will take into account how far the project adhered to the three ‘R’ principles of maximum retention, sensitive restoration and careful repair, as well as the “top-down” approach.
    • Award for Restoration and Innovation
      This is for integrated “old” and “new” developments that demonstrate exemplary restoration of gazetted heritage buildings, innovation and architectural excellence of the new developments, and how the “new” draw inspiration from and enhance the “old”.
    • At the discretion of the Assessment Committee, a project may be conferred ‘Special Mention’ for commendable efforts in some aspects of the restoration work.
  3. Application is open to all projects that have obtained Temporary Occupation Permit or Certificate of Statutory Completion.
  4. Each application is to be submitted by the building owner and endorsed by the Qualified Person (Architect), the Qualified Person (Engineer), the main contractor, and the conservation specialist if one has been engaged for the project.
  5. Eligible submissions will be judged by an Assessment Committee chaired by URA’s Chairman and comprising representatives from URA, other government departments, professional institutions, the National University of Singapore, the Singapore Heritage Society and the Conservation Advisory Panel.
  6. Please note projects that are largely interior decoration works or have unapproved use, illegal works or unresolved planning issues will be disqualified. These criteria will be used to pre-screen applications received before assessment by the Assessment Committee.
  7. Further details of the Awards, eligibility, assessment criteria, application form and submission requirements can be accessed from the URA website at http://www.ura.gov.sg.
  8. The closing date for the submission is Thursday, 30 June 2016 at 1 pm.
  9. I would appreciate it if you could convey the contents of this circular to relevant members of your organisation. If you or your members have any queries concerning this circular, please do not hesitate to call Mr Kelvin Ang, Director (Conservation Management) at Tel: 6321 8191 or our Conservation Enquiry Hotline at Tel: 6329 3355.
Thank You.

Subscribe to URA's mailing list to get the latest updates on current and future plans and developments around Singapore

  Download PDF Version