2015 URA Architectural Heritage Awards: Open Call for Submissions

  Published: 01 April 2015
Circular No : URA/PB/2015/04-CUDG
Fax : 6220 3201


Who Should Know:
Architects, Conservation Home Owners, Developers, Contractors, Engineers


  1. URA is pleased to announce that the 2015 Architectural Heritage Awards (AHA) is now open for submissions. This annual award recognises owners, professionals and contractors, who have gone beyond the basic essentials to lovingly restore monuments and conservation buildings to their former glory for today’s use. They serve as good examples that have set a high standard for others to follow.
  2. The Awards are divided into two categories:
    • Category A
      This is for National Monuments and fully conserved buildings in the Historic Districts of Chinatown, Kampong Glam and Little India, and the Good Class Bungalow Areas. They will be assessed on how far they adhere to quality restoration principles of maximum retention, sensitive restoration and careful repair, as well as the “top-down” approach. Buildings fully conserved according to the restoration principles in other conservation areas can also be considered under Category A.
    • Category B
      This is for integrated “old” and “new” developments such as those in the Historic Residential Districts and Secondary Settlement Areas. These will be assessed on the quality restoration of the “old” elements, the innovation and architectural excellence of the “new” elements, and how the “new” draws inspiration from the “old”. 
  3. Each application should be submitted by the building owner and endorsed by the Qualified Person (architect), Qualified Person (engineer), and main contractor responsible for undertaking the project.  All submissions will be judged by an Assessment Committee chaired by URA’s Chairman and comprising representatives from URA, other government departments, professional institutions, the National University of Singapore, the Singapore Heritage Society and the Conservation Advisory Panel.  
  4. All projects with Temporary Occupation Permit (TOP) obtained by 31 March 2015 are eligible to apply for the Awards. Further details of the Awards, eligibility, assessment criteria, submission requirements, registration and application forms can be accessed from the AHA 2015 homepage.
  5. The closing date for the submission of projects for the 2015 Awards is on Tuesday, 30 June 2015 at 1 pm.
  6. I would appreciate it if you could convey the contents of this circular to relevant members of your organisation. If you or your members have any queries concerning this circular, please do not hesitate to call Mr Kelvin Ang, Director (Conservation Management) at Tel: 63218191 or our Conservation Enquiry Hotline at Tel: 6329 3355.
Thank You.


Subscribe to URA's mailing list to get the latest updates on current and future plans and developments around Singapore.

  Download PDF Version